The Thing Speaks for Whatever

On making lemonade or, Nothing sucks quite like accountability.

In Uncategorized on June 11, 2010 at 11:24 am

I had a blog, once.  It was a fun lil’ thing, oft neglected, but I loved it for awhile.

Eventually I felt like it was getting too personal, and decided to shut the fucker down.  (This may or may not be a theme in my life.  Whoops?)

But that blog was not only good times (at times), it made me feel accountable.  Not to any extensive imagined readership, though I had a few, but to writing something interesting, reading and seeking out interesting things, and to thinking out loud about life, the universe, and you get the point.  I think I need that gentle kick-in-the-pants back.  I need some motivation.  I need some place where I can feel accountable without feeling stifled.  Maybe other people need such a place too.  Hence, a new blog, fresh and unspoilt, for me to obsess over.

I’d like it if, someday, this blog had other contributors, and was the site of robust, respectful debate about things great and small, mundane details about things that may only matter to a select few, and completely disrectful humor and shenanigans (oh, there will be at least one post on “shenanigans”).  A sort of place where shit is always and never that serious.  I’m not sure if I really care if anyone – beyond those dreamed upon accessories to this crime of indulgence, natch – reads it.  I’m not saying it wouldn’t be nifty, but I dunno that it matters.  After all, it’s really just one more blip on an Interwebs positively crammed with smart, funny, and/or interesting websites.  But it’s my blip, hopefully our blip, and as such matters, at least to me.

Let’s get this party started, right?

  1. Well, my dad might. Tell me more about the sucking so I can let you know for sure?

Whatever, yo.

